Rhode Island Laws

Approved Conditions

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV / AIDS
  • Hepatitis C
    • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
    • Severe, debilitating, chronic pain
    • Severe nausea
    • Seizures
    • Epilepsy
    • Severe and persistent muscle spasms
    • Multiple sclerosis
    • Crohn’s disease
    • Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the state Department of Health.

 

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • Up to 12 marijuana plants or 2.5 ounces of cultivated marijuana
  • Primary caregivers: may not possess an amount in excess of 24 marijuana plants and 5 ounces of usable marijuana for qualifying patients

 

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must be a resident of the state of Rhode Island with proof of residency
  • Must provide an “Attending Practitioner Statement” signed by a physician currently licensed to practice in Rhode Island
  • Must complete and sign a “Registration for Medical Marijuana Program” application
  • Must pay a non-refundable application fee of $75 (or reduced fee of $10 if qualified) (via check or money order) to “RI General Treasure”
  • Must mail application forms and fees to the “Department of Health – Medical Marijuana Program Office of Health Professionals Regulation, Room 104”

Sale or Cultivation

  • Less than 1 kg: felony (30 years imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine)
  • 1 – 5 kg: felony (mandatory minimum of 10 years imprisonment to 50 years imprisonment and/or $500,000 fine)
  • More than 5 kg: felony (mandatory minimum of 20 years imprisonment to life and/or $10,000 fine)
  • Within 300 yards of a school may result in double penalty

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • Illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana
  • Any amount of marijuana found in the driver’s blood or urine will establish that the driver was under the influence
  • Penalties:
Number of convictions Fines Jail Time License Suspension Additional Penalties That May Apply
First Conviction a fine of between $100 and $300 up to one year in jail between 30 and 180 days between 10 and 60 hours of community service
Second conviction
(within 5 years)
$400 Fine between 10 days and one year in jail between one and two years Participation in a drug or alcohol treatment program; may be required to use an ignition interlock device for up to 2 years after completion of the jail license and license suspension
Third and subsequent convictions (within 5 years) $400 fine between one and three years in jail between two and three years Participation in a drug or alcohol treatment program; may be required to use an ignition interlock device for up to 2 years after completion of the jail license and license suspension.
Vehicle may be seized and sold.
DUI on a suspended license a fine of up to $3,000 (in addition to the penalties above) up to three years in prison (in addition to the penalties above) n/a an additional highway assessment fine of $500
DUI by a minor n/a n/a 6 months Highway assessment fine of $500; participation in a drug or alcohol education treatment program; may; between 10 and 60 hours of community service.