Oregon Laws

Approved Conditions

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV / AIDS or treatment for these conditions
  • A medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that produces cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, including seizures caused by epilepsy or persistent muscle spasms, including spasms caused by multiple sclerosis.
  • Glaucoma
  • Other conditions are subject to approval by the Health Division of the Oregon Department of Human Resources
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Agitation (due to Alzheimer’s)

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • May possess up to 6 mature marijuana plants and 24 ounces of usable marijuana
  • May possess a combined total of 18 marijuana seedlings (between a registry identification cardholder and the designated primary caregiver)

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must obtain a “Physician’s Statement” from an MD or DO currently licensed in in Oregon
  • Must complete and sign an “OMMP Application Form”
  • Must pay an application fee of $200 (or reduced fee of $100 if qualified) to “OMMP” or “DHS/State of Oregon”
  • Must provide a clear, legible, and valid copy of a government issued photo I.D.
  • If patient is under 18 years of age, must also include a notarized, “OMMP – Declaration of Person Responsible for a Minor” form and complete Part B of the Application Form
  • Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

    • Illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana
    • Any amount of marijuana found in the driver’s blood or urine will establish that the driver was under the influence
    • Penalties
    Number of Convictions Fines Jail Time License Suspension
    First Conviction a fine of between $1,000 and $6,250 at least 48 hours (and up to one year) in jail at least 30 day of license suspension
    Second conviction a fine of between $1,500 and $6,250 at least 48 hours (and up to one year) in jail at least 60 days of license suspension
    Third conviction a fine of between $2,000 and $6,250 at least 48 hours (and up to one year) in jail at least one year of license suspension
    Fourth and subsequent convictions (within 10 years) a fine of between $2,000 and $125,000 up to 5 years in prison at least one year of license suspension