New Jersey Laws

Approved Conditions

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV / AIDS
  • Hepatitis C
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Chronic pancreatitis
  • Spinal cord injury or disease
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • “one or more injuries that significantly interferes with daily activities as documented by the patient’s provider”
  • A severely debilitating or terminal medical condition or its treatment that has produced at least one of the following:
    • Elevated intraocular pressure
    • Cachexia
    • Chemotherapy induced anorexia
    • Wasting syndrome
    • Severe pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measures or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects, constant or severe nausea, moderate to severe vomiting, seizures, or severe, persistent muscle spasms

Possession by Qualified Patient

  • May possess 2 ounces of usable cannabis and any amount of unusable cannabis

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must be a resident of New Hampshire with proof of residency
  • Must be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the approved debilitating medical conditions

Sale or Possession with Intent to Sell

  • Less than 1 ounce (1st offense): felony (3 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine)
  • 1 oz – less than 5 lbs (1st offense): felony (7 years imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine)
  • 5 lbs or more (1st offense): felony (20 years imprisonment and/or $300,000 fine)
  • Subsequent offense carries greater sentences/fines
  • Within 1000 feet of a school zone carries a double sentence and fine

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • Illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana
  • Any amount of marijuana found in the driver’s blood or urine will establish that the driver was under the influence
  • Penalties:
Number of Convictions Fines Jail Time License suspension Additional penalties that may apply
First Conviction mandatory fine of $500 no info between 9 months and 2 years of license suspension participation in a “drugged driving” education or treatment program
Second conviction (within 2 years) mandatory minimum fine of $750 at least 37 days in jail at least 3 years of license suspension no info
Third conviction mandatory minimum fine of $750 at least 180 days in jail at least 5 years of license suspension participation in a 28 day (or longer) in-patient substance abuse treatment program (with the cost paid by the violator)
Fourth and subsequent convictions mandatory minimum fine of $750 at least 180 days in jail at least 7 years of license suspension participation in a 28 day (or longer) in-patient substance abuse treatment program (with the cost paid by the violator)