Nevada Laws

Approved Conditions

  • AIDS
  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Any medical condition or treatment to a medical condition that produces cachexia, persistent muscle spasms or seizures, severe nausea or pain, and PTSD
  • Other conditions are subject to approval by the health division of the state Department of Human Resources

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • May possess no more than 1 ounce of usable marijuana, 3 mature plants, and 4 immature plants

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • May possess a total of no more than 24 ounces of usable marijuana, and no more than 15 plants

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must obtain an application form for the “Medical Marijuana Program” from the “Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Nevada State Health Division”
  • Must pay a $50 fee
  • Note: patient will NOT be able to obtain a Medical Marijuana card in Nevada if the patient holds a Commercial Driver’s License

Sale

  • Less than 100 lbs (1st offense): felony (mandatory minimum of 1 year – 4 years imprisonment and/or $5,000 fine)
  • Less than 100 lbs (2nd offense): felony (mandatory minimum of 1 year – 5 years imprisonment and/or $10,000 fine)
  • Less than 100 lbs (subsequent offense): felony (mandatory minimum of 3 years – 15 years imprisonment and/or $20,000 fine)
  • 100 – less than 2000 lbs: felony (mandatory minimum of 2 years – 10 years and/or $50,000 fine)
  • 10,000 lbs or more: felony (mandatory minimum of 5 years imprisonment to life and/or $200,000 fine)
  • To a minor: felony (mandatory minimum of 5 years imprisonment to life and/or $20,000 fine)

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • Illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana
  • A level of 12 nanograms per milliliter of the driver’s blood, by volume (10 n/ml in the urine), or 5 n/ml of metabolites in the blood (15 n/ml in the urine) will establish that the driver is under the influence
  • Penalties:
Number of Convictions Fines Jail Time Other requirements/
penalties
Additional penalties that may apply
First Conviction a fine of between $400 and $1,000 at least 2 days in jail between 48 and 96 hours of community service participation in a substance abuse education or treatment course
Second Convictions within 7 years a fine of between $750 and $1,000 at least 10 days in jail participation in a substance abuse education or treatment course a judge may additionally (or in lieu of part of the fine) order the violator to participate in community service
Third and subsequent convictions (within 7 years) a fine of between $2,000 and $5,000 between one and six years in prison n/a n/a