Minnesota Laws

Approved Conditions

  • Cancer (if the underlying condition or treatment produces severe or chronic pain, nausea or severe vomiting, or cachexia or severe wasting)
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV / AIDS
  • Tourette’s syndrome
  • ALS
  • Seizures / epilepsy
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms / MS
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Terminal illness with a life expectancy of  under one year

 

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • “The Commissioner of Health will register two in-state manufacturers for the production of all medical cannabis within the state. Manufacturers are required to ensure that the medical cannabis distributed contains a maximum of a 30-day supply of the dosage determined for that patient.”

 

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must be diagnosed by a licensed physician for possessing one of the approved conditions
  • Must be a resident of the state of Minnesota

 

Sale

  • 42.5g or less without remuneration: misdemeanor (possible drug education course requirement and/or $200 fine)
  • More than 42.5g – less than 5kg: felony (5 years imprisonment and/or $10,000 fine)
  • 5 – less than 25 kg: felony (20 years imprisonment and/or $250,000 fine)
  • 25 – less than 50 kg: felony (25 years imprisonment and/or $500,000 fine)
  • 50 kg or more: felony (30 years imprisonment and/or $1,000,000 fine)
  • Importing 100 kg or more or using a minor to import: felony (35 years imprisonment and/or $1,250,000 fine)
  • To a minor: felony (20 years imprisonment and/or $250,000 fine)
  • Within a school zone or other specified areas: felony (15 years imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine)
  • 5 – less than 25 kg in a school zone: felony (25 years imprisonment and/or $500,000 fine)
  • 25 kg or more in a school zone: felony (30 years imprisonment and/or $1,000,000 fine)

 

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • Illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana
  • Any amount of marijuana found in the driver’s blood or urine will establish that the driver was under the influence
  • Penalties:
Number of convictions Fines License Suspension Oher Requirements/Penalties Additional Penalties That May Apply
First Conviction a fine of up to $1,000 up to 90 days in jail up to 180 days of license suspension n/a
Second conviction
(within 10 years)
n/a at least 30 days in jail up to one year of license suspension may be ordered 8 hours of community service in lieu of one day in jail
Third conviction (within 10 years) n/a at least 90 days in jail up to two years of license suspension may be ordered for participation in a probation program for repeat DUI offenders (plus at least 6 days in jail)
Fourth conviction
(within 10 years)
n/a at least 180 days in jail indefinite license suspension may be ordered for participation in a probation program for repeat DUI offenders (plus at least 6 days in jail)
Fifth and subsequent convictions (within 10 years) n/a at least one year in prison indefinite license suspension may be ordered participation in a probation program for repeat DUI offenders (plus at least 6 days in jail