Michigan Laws

Approved Conditions

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV
  • Hepatitis C
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
  • Nail-patella
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Severe and chronic pain
  • Severe Nausea
  • Seizures
  • Epilepsy
  • Muscle spasms
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • PTSD

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • May possess up to two and one-half (2.5) ounces of usable marijuana and 12 marijuana plants kept in an enclosed, locked facility
    o The 12 plants may be kept by the patient only if s/he has not specified a primary caregiver to cultivate the marijuana for him/her

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must complete the appropriate application (one for adults or one for minors)
  • Must complete the appropriate application (one for adults or one for minors)
  • Must have a licensed, Michigan MD or DO complete and sign the “Physician Certification” form
  • Must mail the application and the “Physician Certification” to the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH)
  • Must provide a copy of the patient’s photo I.D.
  • If applicable, must provide a copy of the caregiver’s attestation
  • Payment of $100 (or reduced fee of $25 if qualified) to the “State of Michigan—MMMP”
  • Sale

    • Sale without remuneration: misdemeanor (1 year imprisonment and/or $1,000 fine)
    • Less than 5 kg: felony (4 years imprisonment and/or $20,000 fine)
    • 5 – less than 45 kg: felony (7 years imprisonment and/or $500,000 fine)
    • 45 kg or more: felony (15 years imprisonment and/or $10,000,000 fine)

    Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

    • Illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana
    • Any amount of marijuana found in the driver’s blood or urine will establish that the driver was under the influence
    • Penalties:
    Number of Convictions Fines Jail Time Community Service Additional penalties that may apply
    First Conviction a fine up to $300 up to 93 days in jail up to 360 hours of community service n/a
    Second Convictions a fine between $200 and $1,000 between five days and one year in jail between 30 and 90 days of community service (any combinations of these penalties)
    Third and subsequent convictions a fine of between $500 and $5,000 either one to five years in prison, or probation (with 30 days to one year in jail) 60 to 180 days of community service n/a