Maryland

Approved Conditions

  • Cachexia
  • Anorexia
  • Wasting syndrome
  • Severe or chronic pain
  • Severe nausea
  • Seizures
  • Severe or persistent muscle spasms
  • Other conditions approved by the Commission

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • May possess a 30-day supply (amount to be determined by the Commission)

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must be diagnosed by a licensed physician as possessing one of the approved conditions (chronic or debilitating medical conditions)
  • Must be a resident of Maryland with a valid proof of residency

Sale / Trafficking

  • More than 5 – less than 45 kg: felony (10 years imprisonment and/or $10,000 fine)
  • 45 kg or more: felony (25 years imprisonment and/or $50,000 fine)
  • In possession of a firearm while trafficking: felony (mandatory minimum of 5-20 years imprisonment)

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • Illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana
  • Any amount of marijuana found in the driver’s blood or urine will establish that the driver was under the influence
  • Penalties:
Number of Convictions Fines Jail Time License Suspension Other requirements/
penalties
Additional penalties that may apply
First Conviction a fine up to $1,000 up to one year in jail up to 45 days participation in a drug and alcohol education or treatment program the penalties may increase to $2,000 and up to 2 years in prison if a minor was present
Second convictions (within a 5 year period) a fine of up to $2,000 at least 48 hours in jail (and up to 2 years in prison) up to 90 days participation in a drug and alcohol education or treatment program the penalties may increase to $3,000 and up to 3 years in prison if a minor was present
Third convictions (within a 5 year period) a fine of up to $3,000 up to 3 years in prison up to 18 months participation in a drug and alcohol education or treatment program the penalties may increase to $4,000 and up to 4 years in prison if a minor was present