Maine Laws

Approved Conditions

  • Epilepsy and other disorders characterized by seizures
  • Glaucoma
  • Multiple sclerosis (and other disorders characterized by muscle spasticity)
  • Nausea or vomiting as a result of AIDS or cancer chemotherapy

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • May possess no more than one and one-quarter (1.25) ounces of usable marijuana, and may cultivate no more than 6 marijuana plants (of which no more than 3 may be mature)

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must be a resident of Maine with a valid I.D. as proof of residency
  • Must obtain legitimate medical records or documentation form the primary care physician describing their diagnosis
  • Must obtain an authenticated, written certification from a physician licensed in Maine, with whom the patient has a bona fide relationship, stating that the patient might benefit from the medical use of marijuana
  • Must register with the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program to receive a registry ID card (aka a medical marijuana card)

Sale or Distribution

  • 1 lb or less: (1 year imprisonment and/or $2,000 fine)
  • More than 1 – less than 20 lbs: (5 years imprisonment and/or $5,000 fine)
  • 20 lbs or more: (10 years imprisonment and/or $20,000 fine)
  • To a minor or within 1000 feet of a school or school bus: (5 years imprisonment and/or $5,000 fine)

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • Illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana
  • Any amount of marijuana found in the driver’s blood or urine will establish that the driver was under the influence
  • Penalties:
Number of Convictions Fines Jail Time License Suspension Other Requirements/Penalties Additional Penalties That May Apply
First Conviction a fine of at least $500 at least 48 hours in jail license suspension of at least 90 days n/a These minimum penalties may be increased to $900 and 12 days in jail if the offender refused to take a drug test upon arrest
Second convictions (within a 10 year period) a fine of at least $700 at least 7 days in jail license suspension and the right to register a motor vehicle for at least 3 years n/a These minimum penalties may be increased to $900 and 12 days in jail if the offender refused to take a drug test upon arrest
Third convictions (within a 10 year period) a fine of at least $1,100 at least 30 days in jail license suspension and right to register a motor vehicle for at least 6 years n/a These minimum penalties may increase to $1,400 and 40 days in jail if the offender refused to take a drug test upon arrest
Fourth and subsequent convictions (within a 10 year period) a fine of at least $2,100 at least 6 months in jail license suspension and right to register a motor vehicle for at least 6 years violators must use an ignition interlock device when driving any vehicle for 4 years after the suspension period has ended These minimum penalties may increase to $2,500 and 6 months and 20 days in jail if the offender refused to take a drug test upon arrest