Illinois Laws

Approved Conditions

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV
  • AIDS
  • Hepatitis C
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Agitation of Alzheimer’s disease
  • Cachexia / wasting syndrome
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Severe fibromyalgia
  • Spinal cord disease
  • Tarlov cysts
  • Hydromyelia syringomyelia
  • Rheumatoid arthritis
  • Fibrous dysplasia
  • Spinal cord injury
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Post-concussion syndrome
  • Arnold-Chiari malformation and Syringomelia
  • Spinocerebellar Ataxia (SCA)
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Tourette Syndrome
  • Myoclonus Dystonia
  • Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy
  • RSD (Complex Regional Pain Syndrome Type I)
  • Causalgia
  • CRPS (Complex Regional Pain Syndrome Type II)
  • Neurofibromatosis
  • Chronic inflammatory
  • Demyelinating Polyneuropathy
  • Sjogren’s Syndrome
  • Lupus
  • Interstitial Cystitis
  • Myasthenia Gravis
  • Hydrocephalus
  • Nail-patella syndrome or residual limb pain

Possession by Qualified Patient

  • May possess an “adequate supply” which is defined as “2.5 ounces of usable cannabis during a period of 14 days”

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must be a legal resident of the state of Illinois with proof of residency
  • Must have a certification signed by a doctor stating that in the physician’s professional opinion, the patient is likely to receive therapeutic benefit from the medical use of marijuana to treat or alleviate the patient’s debilitating medical condition
  • Must provide medical records showing proof of diagnosis from one of the qualifying/approved conditions

Sale or Trafficking

  • 2.5g or less: misdemeanor (30 days imprisonment and/or $1,500 fine)
  • 2.5 – 10g: misdemeanor (6 months imprisonment and/or $1,500 fine)
  • More than 10-30g (1st offense): misdemeanor (1 year imprisonment and/or $2,500 fine)
  • More than 10-30g (subsequent offense): felony (mandatory 1-6 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine)
  • More than 30-500g (1st offense): felony (mandatory 1-6 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine)
  • More than 30-500g (subsequent offense): felony (mandatory 2-10 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine)
  • More than 500-2000g: felony (mandatory 2-10 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine)
  • More than 2000-5000g: felony (mandatory 3-14 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine)
  • More than 5,000g: felony (mandatory 4-30 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine)

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • 2.5g or less: misdemeanor (30 days imprisonment and/or $1,500 fine)
  • Penalties:
Number of Convictions Designated violation Jail Time Fines Other requirements/
penalties
First Conviction class A misdemeanor up to one year in jail a fine of up to $2,500 n/a
Second Convictions within 7 years class A misdemeanor mandatory 5 days (and up to one year) in jail a fine of up to $2,500 240 hours of community service
Third and Fourth convictions class 2 felony between three and seven years in prison a fine of up to $25,000 n/a
Fifth conviction class 1 felony between 4 and 15 years in prison a fine of up to $25,000 n/a
Sixth and subsequent conviction class X felony between 6 and 30 years in prison a fine of up to $25,000 n/a