Connecticut

Approved Conditions

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV or AIDS
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
  • Epilepsy
  • Cachexia
  • Wasting syndrome
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Any medical condition, medical treatment of disease approved by the Department of Consumer Protection

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • May possess “an amount of usable marijuana reasonably necessary to endure uninterrupted availability for a period of one month, as determined by the Department of Consumer Protection

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • May possess “no more marijuana than is necessary for the patient’s personal, medical use, not exceeding the amount necessary for a 60-day supply…”

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must be at least 18 years older
  • Must be a Connecticut resident
  • Cannot be an inmate confined in a correctional institution or facility under the supervision of the Connecticut Department of Corrections

Distribution or Cultivation

  • Less than 1 kilogram (1st offense): felony (7 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine)
  • Less than 1 kilogram (subsequent offense): felony (15 years imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine)
  • 1 kilogram or more (1st offense): felony (mandatory minimum 5-20 year imprisonment and/or $25,000)
  • 1 kilogram or more (subsequent offense): felony (mandatory minimum 10-25 years imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine)

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • Illegal to drive a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana
  • Being a registered medical marijuana user is NOT a defense to these laws
  • Penalties:
Number of Convictions Fines Jail Time License Suspension Other Requirements / Penalties Additional penalties that may apply
First convictions a fine between $500 and $1,000 mandatory minimum of 48 hours (and up to 6 months) in jail n/a n/a A judge may order probation and up to 100 hours of community service in lieu of a portion of the non-mandatory jail sentence
Second convictions
(within 10 years of a prior identical conviction)
a fine of between $1,000 and $4,000 a mandatory minimum 120 days (and up to 2 years) in prison n/a n/a A judge may order probation and up to 100 hours of community service in lieu of a portion of the non-mandatory jail sentence
Second offenses by minors younger than 21 n/a n/a driver’s license suspension (or until the individual turns 21, whichever is longer) will be required to use an ignition interlock device for 2 years when operating any vehicle n/a
Third and subsequent convictions
(within 10 years of 2 or more prior identical convictions)
a fine of between $2,000 and $8,000 mandatory minimum one year (and up to 3 years) in prison n/a a judge will permanently revoke the violator’s driver’s license may be ordered probation and up to 100 hours of community service in lieu of a portion of the non-mandatory jail sentence