Connecticut Laws

 

Approved Conditions

·         Cancer

·         Glaucoma

·         HIV or AIDS

·         Parkinson’s disease

·         Multiple sclerosis

·         Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity

·         Epilepsy

·         Cachexia

·         Wasting syndrome

·         Crohn’s disease

·         Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)

·         Any medical condition, medical treatment or disease approved by the Department of Consumer Protection

 

Possession by Qualified Patients

·         May possess “an amount of usable marijuana reasonably necessary to endure uninterrupted availability for a period of one month, as determined by the Department of Consumer Protection.”

 

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

·         Must be a Connecticut resident

·         Must be at least 18 years of age or older

·         Cannot be an inmate confined in a correctional institution or facility under the supervision of the Connecticut Department of Corrections

 

Distribution or Cultivation

·         Less than 1 kilogram (1st offense): felony (7 years imprisonment and/or $25,000 fine)

·         Less than 1 kilogram (subsequent offense): felony (15 years imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine)

·         1 kilogram or more (1st offense): felony (mandatory minimum 5-20 year imprisonment and/or $25,000)

·         1 kilogram or more (subsequent offense): felony (mandatory minimum 10-25 years imprisonment and/or $100,000 fine)

 

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

·         Illegal to drive a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana

·         Being a registered medical marijuana user is NOT a defense to these laws

·         Penalties:

 

 

Number of conviction

 

 

Fines

 

Jail Time

 

License Suspension

Other requirements/

penalties

Additional  penalties that may apply

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First convictions

 

 

 

 

a fine of between $500 and $1,000

 

 

 

mandatory minimum of 48 hours (and up to 6 months) in jail

 

 

 

 

(no info provided)

 

 

 

 

(no info provided)

A judge may order probation and up to 100 hours of community service in lieu of a portion of the non-mandatory jail sentence

 

 

Second convictions

(within 10 years of a prior identical conviction)

 

 

 

 

a fine of between $1,000 and $4,000

 

 

 

a mandatory minimum 120 days (and up to 2 years) in prison

 

 

 

(no info provided)

 



(no info provided)

A judge may order probation and up to 100 hours of community service in lieu of a portion of the non-mandatory jail sentence

 

 

Second offenses by minors younger than 21

 

 

 

 

 

(no info provided)

 

 

 

 

(no info provided)

 

3-year driver’s license suspension (or until the individual turns 21, whichever is longer)

after suspension: will be required to use an ignition interlock device for 2 years when operating any vehicle

 

 

 

(no info provided)

 

Third and subsequent convictions

(within 10 years of 2 or more prior identical convictions)

 

 

 

 

a fine of between $2,000 and $8,000

 

 

 

mandatory minimum one year (and up to 3 years) in prison

 

 

 

(no info provided)

 

 

a judge will permanently revoke the violator’s driver’s license

may be ordered probation and up to 100 hours of community service  in lieu of a portion of the non-mandatory jail sentence