Colorado Laws

Approved Conditions

  • Arthritis
  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Chronic Nausea
  • Chronic Pain
  • DDD – Degenerative Disease
  • Fibromalygia
  • Gerd – Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • IBS – Irritable Bowel Syndrome
  • Migraines
  • Neuropathy
  • Reflux Disease
  • Seizure Disorders – Epilepsy
  • Spastic Disorders – Multiple Sclerosis

Possession and Fines

  • No more than 1 ounce
  • One ounce or less: no penalty
  • 1-2 oz: petty offense ($100 fine)
  • Open and public displays or uses of less than 2 oz: petty offense, 15 days jail ($100 fine)
  • 2-6 oz: misdemeanor, 1 year jail. ($1,000 fine)
  • 6-12 oz: misdemeanor, 18 months jail ($10,000 fine)
  • More than 12 oz: felony, 1-1.5 years jail ($100,000 fine)

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Fill out the appropriate application (for patients over age 18 or for patients under age 18)
  • Provide a legible copy of patient’s Colorado driver’s license or identification card
  • Payment of $35 to the “Medical Marijuana Registry”

Sale

  • Transfer of one oz or less for no remuneration: no penalty
  • 5 lbs or less: felony, 1-3 years jail ($100,000 fine)
  • 5-100 lbs: felony, 2-6 years jail ($500,000 fine)
  • 100 lbs or more: felony, 4-12 years jail ($75,000 fine)
  • 5 lbs or more to a minor: felony, 3-12 years jail ($75,000 fine)

Cultivation

  • 6 plants or fewer (with no more than 3 being mature): no penalty
  • 6-30 plants: felony, 6 months-2 years jail ($1,000 to $100,000 fine)
  • More than 30 plants: felony, 2-6 years jail ($2,000 to $500,000 fine)
  • The marijuana patch must be enclosed and locked

Hours of Sale

  • Marijuana stores can only be open between 8 a.m. and midnight
  • Cities and municipalities may require stricter hours of operation
  • Denver stores are required to close by 7 p.m.

Consumption

  • May not be consumed “openly and publicly”
  • May not be consumed in smoke shops / dispensaries
  • May not be consumed in pot shop or other establishments governed by the state’s Clean Indoor Air Act
  • May only be smoked in private properties, with the owner’s permission
  • Communities and counties may choose not to allow recreational marijuana stores in their local jurisdictions

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • Illegal to drive a vehicle while under the influence of marijuana
    o Habitual drug users are also prohibited from driving vehicles in Colorado (Co. Rev. Stat. Ann. §42-4-1301(1)(a),(b)&(c).)
  • Being a registered medical marijuana user is NOT a defense to these laws. (Co. Rev. Stat. Ann. §42-4-1301(1)(e).)
  • Penalties for Driving Under the Influence:
    o Violations are considered misdemeanors