Arizona Laws

Approved Conditions

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV
  • AIDS
  • Hepatitis C
  • ALS
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Cachexia
  • Wasting Syndrome
  • Severe and Chronic Pain
  • Severe Nausea
  • Seizures (incuding epilepsy)
  • Severe or persistent muscle spasms (including Multiple Sclerosis)
  • PTSD

Possession and Cultivation by Qualified Patients

  • May obtain up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in a 14-day period from a registered non-profit medical marijuana dispensary
  • If the patient lives more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, the patient or caregiver may cultivate up to 12 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Card

  • Must complete the entire “Arizona Department of Health Services” application for the state’s medical marijuana program
  • Provide an electronic copy of photo I.D.
  • Provide current digital photograph
  • Provide electronic copy of the physician’s certification form
  • Provide an electronic copy of the patient’s attestation
  • Payment by Visa or Mastercard
  • If applicable, SNAP documentation

Sale

  • Less than 2 lbs: felony (1-3.75 years and/or $150,000 fine)
  • 2-4 lbs: felony (2-8.75 years and/or $150,000 fine)
  • More than 4 lbs: felony (3-12.5 years and/or $150,000 fine)

Consumption 

  • May NOT be consumed in any public place or on any public transportation

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • The mere presence of a drug in the driver’s body is grounds for a DUI charge, regardless of whether the driver is actually impaired
  • Penalties:
Number of Convictions Jail Time Fines Community Service License Suspension Other Requirements/Penalties Additional Penalties That May Apply
First Conviction at least 10 days in jail at least $1,250 fine may apply, but not mandatory may apply, but not mandatory may apply, but not mandatory required participation in a drug treatment program, license suspension, community service, probation for up to 5 years, or being ordered to attach an ignition interlock device to the driver’s vehicle
Second conviction (within 84 months) at least 90 days in jail (30 days of which is NOT eligible for probation or suspension of sentence) at least $3,000 fine at least 30 hours one year license suspension required to attach an ignition interlock device to the driver’s vehicle required participation in a drug treatment program or additional probation
Third or subsequent conviction (within 7 years, w/ suspended license, or under certain other circumstances) at least 4 months in prison up to $150,000 fine may apply, but not mandatory 3 years license suspension probation for up to 5 years forfeiture of vehicle or required participation in a drug treatment program