Alaska Laws

 
Approved Conditions

  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • Epilepsy and other disorders characterized by seizures
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV or AIDS
  • Multiple sclerosis and other disorders characterized by muscle spasticity
  • Nausea
  • Other conditions subject to approval by the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services

Possession and Fines

  • Less than 1 ounce for personal use: none
  • Up to 4 ounce in private residence: none
  • 1-4 ounces in public: misdemeanor (up to 1 year and/or $1,000 fine)
  • More than 4 ounces: felony (up to 5 years and/or $50,000 fine)
  • Any amount within 500 ft. of school grounds or recreation center: unclassified felony (up to 5 years and/or $50,000 fine)
  • HIV or AIDS
  • Other conditions subject to approval by the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services

Possession by Qualified Patients

  • Eligible patients (or approved caregivers) may possess up to 1 oz. of usable marijuana (up to 4 oz. in one’s home)

Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card

  • Must obtain a signed “Physician’s Statement” from a physician licensed in Alaska
  • Complete and sign the “Application for Registry Identification Card for Medical Use of Marijuana”
  • Provide a legible copy of the patient’s driver’s license or identification card and for all caregivers
  • Pay a non-refundable application fee of $25 to the Bureau of Vital Statistics

Sale

  • Less than 1 ounce: misdemeanor (1 year and/or $10,000 fine)
  • More than 1 ounce: felony (5 years and/or $1,000)
  • To a person under 19 who is 3 years or more younger than the seller: felony (10 years and/or $100,000 fine)

Cultivation

  • May grow up to 6 plants (3 mature) in a secure, private location
  • The cultivation of 25 plants or more results in a felony and up to 5 years imprisonment and $1,000 fine

Consumption

  • Illegal to consume marijuana in any public place
  • May only be used in private properties (but some property owners or homeowners associations may prohibit marijuana use) and outside the view of the general public; (some cities/counties may have stricter laws)
  • Must be at least 21 years old

Driving Under the Influence of Marijuana

  • Driving under the influence is a class A misdemeanor
  • Penalties:
Number of Convictions Fines Jail Time Additional Penalties (if s/he was convicted of DUI two or more times since 01/01/96 & within 10 years preceding the date of the present offense
First Conviction at least $1,500 not less than 72 consecutive hours in jail n/a
Second conviction at least $3,000 not less than 20 days in jail n/a
Third conviction at least $4,000 not less than 60 days in jail penalty rises to a fine of at least $10,000 and a minimum of 120 days in jail
Fourth Conviction at least $5,000 not less than 120 days in jail penalty rises to a fine of at least $10,000 and a minimum sentence of at least 360 days
Fifth or Subsequent Conviction at least $7,000 not less than 360 days in jail penalty rises to a fine of at least $10,000